7950 Legacy Drive, Suite 360, Plano, TX 75024
Free Initial Consultation
214-303-9600
Call 24/7

Collin County criminal defense attorney child sexual assault

A 24-year-old former educational assistant was indicted by a grand jury in Bowie County, Texas, earlier this month on two counts of an improper relationship between educator and student. The former aide was also indicted on a single count of sexual assault of a child. All three criminal charges are felonies, and they stem from interactions she allegedly had with students between November 2019 and May 2020.

Overheard Conversations

According to reports, a teacher at Texas High in the Texarkana Independent School District overheard a group of boys talking in June about how one of the boys might have gotten the instructional aide pregnant. After being confronted, the 17-year-old boy allegedly said that he had had sex with the aide but that she told him he was not her baby’s father. He also claimed that other students had sex with the assistant as well.

...

Dallas criminal defense attorney violent crimes

A small city in East Texas was thrust into the national spotlight in recent days—and for all of the wrong reasons. On the morning of Friday, October 9, police in New Boston, TX, were called to a residence where they found the body of a young woman who had apparently been murdered. To make matters even worse, the victim had been pregnant at the time of her death, and a preliminary investigation indicated that the woman’s unborn baby had been cut from her body. The gruesome scene prompted action by several local and state agencies, looking into the case as both a murder and kidnapping investigation.

Pregnant Woman Found Dead

At a little after 10 a.m. last Friday, New Boston police responded to a 911 call reporting a deceased person. New Boston is a small city of approximately 4,600 people in Bowie County near Texarkana. When the police arrived, they discovered the body of a 21-year-old woman. According to officials from the Texas Department of Public Safety, the woman was clearly the victim of a homicide. She had also been almost eight months pregnant when she died, and her baby had been cut from her womb, presumably by her killer. Following the horrific discovery, an investigation was initiated by multiple law enforcement agencies throughout the region, including the Department of Public Safety, the New Boston Police Department, the Texarkana Police Department, and the Bowie County Sheriff’s Office.

...

Fort Worth criminal defense attorney child endangerment

The public’s opinion of drugs and alcohol has changed dramatically throughout our nation’s history. Alcohol was common in many American homes until the 18th Amendment banned the consumption of liquor, beer, and wine in 1919. Then, the 21st Amendment repealed the ban on the manufacture and consumption of alcohol. Today, marijuana is a subject of great controversy across the United States. Some consider it a dangerous “gateway drug” while others believe that the substance offers significant medicinal benefits. Although the laws surrounding drugs and alcohol are constantly changing, one certainty has remained consistent: Drugs and alcohol should not be consumed by children. Allowing a child to consume drugs or alcohol or consuming an illicit substance in the presence of a child can result in child endangerment charges.

Criminal Charges Can Result from Exposing a Child to Danger

Children are unable to adequately provide for their own safety. Consequently, they are dependent on adults to protect them from harm. When an adult fails to protect a child or allows a child to be in a dangerous situation, he or she may be charged with the criminal offense of child endangerment. One Texas woman was recently arrested and charged with child endangerment after a video surfaced of the woman allowing her 3-year-old brother to smoke marijuana. The video, which was shared on Facebook and quickly shared with Texas police, shows the boy’s 18-year-old sister and another individual actively encouraging the toddler to inhale. Child Protective Services is currently investigating the situation. It is unknown if further criminal charges will be brought against the young boy’s parents. If the sister is convicted of child endangerment, she faces up to two years of imprisonment in a Texas state jail facility.

...

Collin County criminal defense attorney child abuse

Breakups and divorce can sometimes lead people to make choices they would never make otherwise. Some individuals even fabricate stories of child abuse or neglect in order to “get back” at their former partner. Unfortunately, even if an accusation of child abuse is completely unfounded, the allegation can have dramatic effects on the wrongfully accused. He or she may be investigated by the Texas Department of Family and Protective Services or even arrested and charged with a criminal offense. If you or a loved one has been accused of causing injury to a child, it is crucial that you take swift action to protect your rights.

Responding to Allegations of Child Abuse

Understandably, being accused of a crime you did not commit can be infuriating. However, it is important to remain calm and avoid taking actions that could be used against you in any criminal proceedings. Do not confront your accuser in any way. If you have been served with a protective order or restraining order, comply with the provisions contained in the order. You may be required to surrender your firearms and/or concealed carry permit, stay away from the alleged victim’s school, or even temporarily move out of your own home. Even if the grounds for the protective order are fraudulent, you should comply with these requirements. By doing so, you show the court that you are a law-abiding citizen. Even more importantly, violating the terms of the protective order can result in additional criminal charges which will make your situation even worse.
Injury to a child is a felony offense in Texas. If you are accused of causing bodily injury or mental impairment to your child or any other child through reckless actions or inaction, you could face up to two years in prison and a maximum fine of $10,000. If the alleged injury was intentional, the maximum punishment for causing injury to a child is 10 years in prison and $10,000 in fines. If a serious bodily injury or mental impairment was allegedly caused, the crime is a first-degree felony, which is punishable by life in prison. As you can see, the punishments for harming a child in Texas are severe. This is why it is critical for you to obtain legal support from an experienced lawyer as soon as possible. Do not respond to police questioning without your lawyer present. You could say or do something incriminating that is later used against you.

...

Fort Worth criminal defense attorney sexual assault

Because children’s brains are not fully developed and they have not had the same life experiences as adults, it is assumed that children cannot consent to sexual activities. In the eyes of the law, this makes any sexual conduct between a child and an adult non-consensual and therefore unlawful. However, the “age of consent” or age at which a person is considered to be capable of agreeing to sex, varies from state to state. This can make it difficult to know when a sexual relationship is in violation of the law. If you have been charged with sexual assault of a child or accused of statutory rape, you could be facing life-altering criminal consequences. That is why it is important to contact a qualified criminal defense lawyer as soon as possible.

Texas Law Regarding Statutory Rape

The age of consent is 17 in Texas. This means that it is unlawful for an adult to participate in sexual activities with someone who is 16 years old or younger. Texas law does not use the term “rape” for nonconsensual sex but instead refers to the act as sexual assault. Many people do not realize that they can be charged with sexual assault of a child even if the underage person agreed to the sexual activity. Sexual activity does not need to be forced or involve drugs such as Rohypnol in order to be a criminal offense. Sexual assault of a child is a second-degree felony in Texas. If convicted, you could be imprisoned for 2-20 years and fined up to $10,000. If you are accused of participating in non-penetrative sexual activities with a person under 17, you could be charged with indecency with a child. This is also a second-degree felony punishable by up to 20 years in prison and up to $10,000 in fines. You will also be required to register as a sex offender.

...
Elite Lawyer AVVO National Trial Lawyer SuperLawyer Client Champion 2020
Back to Top