7950 Legacy Drive, Suite 360, Plano, TX 75024
Free Initial Consultation
214-303-9600
Call 24/7

What Kind of Punishment Am I Facing for a Vehicular Manslaughter Charge in Texas?

Posted on in Criminal Defense

Texas criminal defense attorneyTexas law defines manslaughter as an offense that occurs when one person recklessly causes the death of another person. In contrast to homicide, in which a killing is deliberate or even premeditated, manslaughter is more akin to an accident—albeit a very serious accident in which the guilty party should have known better. Add a car or other vehicle to the situation, and you have vehicular manslaughter—although in Texas, vehicular manslaughter is just called “manslaughter.” 

The consequences of a conviction for manslaughter are serious. If you have been charged with manslaughter, it is important to learn more about the topic and then get the help of an experienced Texas criminal defense attorney. 

What Is an Example of Vehicular Manslaughter? 

Any action in which one person’s recklessness behind the wheel of a vehicle kills another person could be vehicular manslaughter, giving authorities wide leeway when bringing vehicular manslaughter charges. Examples of behaviors that may allow for vehicular manslaughter changes include: 

  • Driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol
  • Boating under the influence
  • Passing a school bus illegally
  • Street racing
  • Fleeing from the police
  • Texting and driving 

People generally know the above actions are dangerous, but an effective defense to manslaughter can sometimes be found by proving the defendant did not know the risk they were taking. Such a defense may reduce the charges from manslaughter to criminally negligent homicide, a charge with far lesser penalties. 

What Are the Punishments for Vehicular Manslaughter in Texas? 

Vehicular manslaughter is usually charged as a second-degree felony, although it can carry additional charges. Depending on your past criminal history, penalties include: 

  • Up to 20 years in prison
  • Up to $10,000 in fines
  • Probation
  • Community service
  • Permanent felon status

The specific circumstances will affect whether additional charges are brought. For example, if you were driving drunk and caused a car accident in which someone died, DWI charges and everything they carry—license suspension, fines, jail time—will be part of the overall prosecution. 

Meet With a Plano, TX Manslaughter Defense Lawyer

If you or someone you love are facing charges of vehicular homicide in Texas, you already know how serious the consequences of a successful conviction can be. Do not delay seeking help from an experienced Collin County manslaughter defense attorney. At The Crowder Law Firm, P.C., we defend our clients aggressively and do everything we can to protect your constitutional rights. Call us 24/7 at 214-303-9600 to schedule a free consultation and let us start working on your defense strategy right away. 

 

Source: 

https://statutes.capitol.texas.gov/Docs/PE/htm/PE.19.htm

Elite Lawyer AVVO National Trial Lawyer National Trial Lawyer Top 40 Under 40 SuperLawyer Client Champion 2020
Back to Top