Plano, Texas DWI Defense Lawyer
Defense Attorney in Collin County for Clients Charged with Drunk Driving
It is against Texas law to operate a motor vehicle with a blood or breath alcohol concentration (BAC) of more than 0.08. If you have been arrested for driving while intoxicated (DWI) in Texas, you may be facing significant criminal consequences including expensive fines and jail time. You could also lose your driver's license, making it nearly impossible for you to get to work and provide for your family.
At The Crowder Law Firm P.C., we work with clients to fight all types of drunk driving charges. With our background and knowledge of the law, we know what you are up against, and we have the tools to help you take action. Depending on the situation, we might be able to have DWI charges reduced to a lesser offense or dropped entirely.
Fighting DWI Charges in McKinney and Garland
When you are stopped by law enforcement on suspicion of DWI, you will probably be asked to take a breath alcohol test such as a Breathalyzer breath test or a series of field sobriety tests. If you fail these tests, you may be arrested on DWI charges. If you refuse a breath test, however, your driver license is automatically suspended for 180 days.
The penalties for DWI in Texas largely depend on the number of times you have been convicted of DWI in the past, as well as the circumstances of your present case. A first DWI offense is generally punishable by a fine of up to $2,000, three to 180 days in jail, and a driver's license suspension of up to a year. A second offense carries penalties including one month to a year in jail, $4,000 in fines, and a driver's license suspension of up to two years. A third DWI offense is punishable by two to 10 years in prison, a $10,000 fine, and loss of driving privileges for up to two years.
If your BAC is 0.15 or above, you may face enhanced charges and additional penalties. If you have two or more DWI convictions within five years, you will be required to install an ignition interlock device (IID) that prevents your vehicle from being started if you have been drinking. DWI with a child passenger is a state jail felony and is punished more severely than a regular DWI.
"Intoxication assault" is a DWI that results in serious bodily injury. It is a third-degree felony punishable by two to 10 years in a Texas Department of Criminal Justice correctional facility plus significant fines. "Intoxication Manslaughter" is the term used to describe a DWI that causes death. This second-degree felony carries a penalty of up to ten years in prison and a fine of up to $10,000.
Legal Professionals Protecting Your Rights
If you have been arrested on DWI charges, speak with a Plano criminal defense attorney right away. An experienced lawyer can ensure that your rights are protected and help you avoid self-incrimination. Attorney Darlina Crowder has secured over 300 acquittals and not-guilty verdicts for her clients during her 20-year career as a criminal defense attorney. She and the professional team at The Crowder Law Firm P.C. will be with you every step of the way while you fight DWI-related charges. We will help you explore options for avoiding a conviction and for minimizing the impact on your future.
Call 214-303-9600 Today
For more information about our firm and how we can help you defend against DWI charges, contact our office. Call 214-303-9600 for a free consultation and case review today. The Crowder Law Firm P.C. serves DWI clients in Plano, Dallas, Fort Worth, McKinney, Garland, Denton, Frisco, Collin County, Dallas County, Tarrant County, Grayson County and the surrounding areas. Se habla Español.