Plano, Texas Child Endangerment Attorney
Lawyer in Collin County for Clients Charged With Endangering a Child
The state of Texas takes a very serious approach to protecting the welfare of children. As a result, any charges related to placing a child in danger carry serious criminal consequences. If you or someone you love has been charged with any type of child endangerment, you need an attorney who will fight to protect your rights, your reputation, and your future. You need Attorney Darlina Crowder.
At The Crowder Law Firm, P.C., we understand lengths to which prosecutors will go to secure a conviction on child endangerment charges. We also know that a conviction is likely to change the course of the rest of your life. For more than 20 years, our team has been serving the residents of North Texas, and we have secured over 250 not-guilty verdicts and acquittals for our clients. We are prepared to put our experience and resources to work for you.
Child Endangerment Charges and Penalties
There are several different charges that could apply to a situation in which a child has been allegedly placed in danger. Prosecutors could allege child abandonment if they believe that you were responsible for a child and you left child without reasonable and necessary case, such that the child was at risk of suffering harm.
The offense of child endangerment, by comparison, is not limited to those who have assumed responsibility for a child. You could face charges of child endangerment if you are alleged to have engaged in any kind of conduct that placed any child—regardless of your relationship to the child—in imminent danger of death, physical injury, or mental impairment. Such conduct includes possessing, using, or manufacturing illegal drugs in the child's presence. Child endangerment is a state jail felony, and a conviction carries up to two years in a state jail facility.
Garland Lawyer for Leaving a Child in a Vehicle
The Texas Penal Code specifically prohibits leaving a child under the age of 7 years alone in a vehicle for longer than five minutes, regardless of the weather outside or if the car is running. A person who knowingly or intentionally leaves a child under age 7 in a car for more than five minutes without another person over the age of 14 in the vehicle can be charged with a Class C misdemeanor. Penalties for a conviction on charges of leaving a child in a vehicle could include up to one year in jail. The charges could be elevated to child endangerment if the child is deemed to be in imminent danger of death or bodily harm.
Aggressive Criminal Defense in Denton County and Tarrant County
At The Crowder Law Firm, P.C., we understand what is at stake when you are facing charges of child endangerment. We also know that it can be quite difficult for prosecutors to prove all of the necessary elements for a conviction beyond a reasonable doubt. Our team will carefully investigate the circumstances of your arrest to find weaknesses in the prosecution's case. We will also look for any information that could be useful in building the best possible defense. From the moment you are arrested to negotiating a possible plea deal to trial and beyond, we will remain at your side every step of the way.
Call 214-303-9600 Today
For more information about our firm and how we approach child endangerment charges, contact our office. Call 214-303-9600 for a free, confidential consultation today. Our team represents clients in Plano, Dallas, Fort Worth, Garland, McKinney, Denton, Frisco, Collin County, Dallas County, Tarrant County, Denton County, Grayson County, and the surrounding areas.