7950 Legacy Drive, Suite 360, Plano, TX 75024
Free Initial Consultation
214-303-9600
Call 24/7

What Are the Possible Criminal Charges for Child Sex Abuse in Texas?

Posted on in Criminal Defense

Tarrant County criminal defense attorney child sexual abuse

Crimes against children are punished harshly in Texas. If you have been accused of sexually abusing a child, you could face significant criminal charges that result in possible jail time. Most people have a strong emotional reaction to allegations of child sex abuse. They may assume that just because a person is accused of harming a child that the person actually did harm the child. In some cases, the charges may be based on false allegations. This is why is it is crucial for anyone facing criminal charges related to child sex abuse to speak with a skilled criminal law attorney as soon as possible.

Sex Crimes Involving Minors

In Texas, there is no overarching law regarding sexual abuse of a minor. Depending on the circumstances of the alleged offense, a person accused of child sex abuse may be charged with:

  • Indecency With a Child: An individual may be charged with indecency with a child if he or she exposes his or her genitals to the child or exposes the child’s genitals for the purpose of sexual arousal. This offense is punishable by up to 10 years in prison and up to $10,000 in fines. Touching the child’s genitals, anus, or breasts may also lead to charges of indecency with a child. If the offense involves sexual contact, it is punished by up to 20 years in prison and up to $10,000 in fines.

  • Sexual Assault of a Child: Genital contact or sexual contact involving penetration with a child is considered sexual assault. This crime is sometimes referred to as “statutory rape.” A conviction for sexual assault of a child carries penalties including up to 20 years of imprisonment and fines up to $10,000.

  • Sexual Performance of a Child: If the allegations of sexual abuse involve pictures or videos depicting the child engaged in sexual conduct, the perpetrator may face criminal charges for the sexual performance of a child. This crime is punishable by 20 years in prison. If the child is 13 years old or younger, the offense is punishable by up to 99 years in prison.  

Take Immediate Action

If someone has accused you of a sex crime against a child, do not confront the person who accused you or the child. Cooperate with the police, but do not allow police to interrogate you without your attorney present. Simply state that you are invoking your right to remain silent and then do not answer any police questions. If the accuser has filed a protective order against you, comply with the terms of the order even if you know the accusations are false. Violating the protective order will only worsen your situation. Most importantly, contact an experienced attorney so you can start building a strong defense against your criminal charges.

Contact a Dallas Child Abuse Defense Lawyer

Being convicted of a crime against a child can have life-altering consequences. In certain situations, child abuse charges can be issued based on a wrongful accusation. That is why you need professional legal counsel to reduce or dismiss your charges altogether. Tarrant County criminal defense attorney Darlina Crowder has obtained hundreds of acquittals for defendants accused of a wide range of criminal offenses. Call The Crowder Law Firm P.C. today at 214-303-9600 to schedule a free, confidential consultation.

 

Sources:
https://texas.public.law/statutes/tex._penal_code_section_43.25
https://statutes.capitol.texas.gov/docs/PE/htm/PE.21.htm

Elite Lawyer AVVO National Trial Lawyer SuperLawyer Client Champion 2020
Back to Top