Drug Possession Charges in Plano, TX
A Plano Drug Crimes Lawyer Can Help; Call Now!
Texas law restricts the possession, transportation, and sale of numerous substances to varying degrees. Being found in possession of one of these substances without authorization is against the law, a crime more commonly known as “drug possession.” The state of Texas has some of the strictest laws and penalties in the country when it comes to drug crimes, and even a simple possession charge of a low-level substance can have an extensive impact on your life.
When you’re facing drug possession charges, it’s important to bring an ally on your side who can fight to defend your rights and obtain justice on your behalf. Attorney Darlina Crowder has practiced primarily criminal defense law since opening The Crowder Law Firm, P.C. in 2000. Over her nearly 20 years of experience, she has fought tirelessly and aggressively to defend hundreds of clients and achieved a long and substantial record of success. Over her career, she has obtained more than 200 acquittals, including a not-guilty verdict in the high-profile case of Lisa Diaz back in 2004. She even currently serves as an Associate Judge in Collin County Probate Court.
For dedicated representation in fighting back against drug possession charges, call Crowder Law Firm, P.C. today at (214) 981-1441 and schedule a free consultation.
Drug Crime Penalty Groups in Texas
The severity of your charges depends on several factors under Texas law. Each case depends on the type of substance or substances you are found to have, where you are found with them, how much of each substance you have, and your intent in possessing them. To make things simple, each substance is sorted into one of five penalty groups, with each penalty group having its own distinct set of charges.
The drug penalty groups are:
- Group 1 – These are the most dangerous drugs with the highest chance of addiction and abuse and no accepted medical benefits. Possessing less than one gram can carry a fine of up to $10,000 and between six months and two years in prison.
- Group 1-A – This is a unique group reserved exclusively for lysergic acid diethylamide, or as it’s more commonly known, LSD. The penalties are based on the number of “abuse units” you are found in possession of, and could potentially carry heavier fines than Group 1.
- Group 2 – The lowest penalties for this class of drugs are similar to Group 1 and Group 1-A, but the penalties for larger offenders, are much smaller. Those found with 400 grams or more of a Group 2 substance can face a fine of up to $50,000, as opposed to Group 1’s $100,000 max.
- Group 3 – These drugs are still heavily regulated, but have a limited amount of accepted medical uses. However, possessing these substances without permission can still land you a fine of up to $4,000 and up to a year in jail for possession of less than 28 grams.
- Group 4 – These are the least serious drug possession charges, as the substances carry a low risk of physical dependency or abuse and do have accepted medicinal purposes. But even then they carry heavy penalties. Possession of less than 28 grams can carry a fine of up to $2,000 and up to six months in jail.
If you’re facing drug possession charges, contact Crowder Law Firm, P.C. online now and place a strong, experienced advocate in your corner!