7950 Legacy Drive, Suite 360, Plano, TX 75024
Free Initial Consultation
214-303-9600
Call 24/7
Subscribe to this list via RSS Blog posts tagged in child abuse

Collin County criminal defense attorney child abuse

Breakups and divorce can sometimes lead people to make choices they would never make otherwise. Some individuals even fabricate stories of child abuse or neglect in order to “get back” at their former partner. Unfortunately, even if an accusation of child abuse is completely unfounded, the allegation can have dramatic effects on the wrongfully accused. He or she may be investigated by the Texas Department of Family and Protective Services or even arrested and charged with a criminal offense. If you or a loved one has been accused of causing injury to a child, it is crucial that you take swift action to protect your rights.

Responding to Allegations of Child Abuse

Understandably, being accused of a crime you did not commit can be infuriating. However, it is important to remain calm and avoid taking actions that could be used against you in any criminal proceedings. Do not confront your accuser in any way. If you have been served with a protective order or restraining order, comply with the provisions contained in the order. You may be required to surrender your firearms and/or concealed carry permit, stay away from the alleged victim’s school, or even temporarily move out of your own home. Even if the grounds for the protective order are fraudulent, you should comply with these requirements. By doing so, you show the court that you are a law-abiding citizen. Even more importantly, violating the terms of the protective order can result in additional criminal charges which will make your situation even worse.
Injury to a child is a felony offense in Texas. If you are accused of causing bodily injury or mental impairment to your child or any other child through reckless actions or inaction, you could face up to two years in prison and a maximum fine of $10,000. If the alleged injury was intentional, the maximum punishment for causing injury to a child is 10 years in prison and $10,000 in fines. If a serious bodily injury or mental impairment was allegedly caused, the crime is a first-degree felony, which is punishable by life in prison. As you can see, the punishments for harming a child in Texas are severe. This is why it is critical for you to obtain legal support from an experienced lawyer as soon as possible. Do not respond to police questioning without your lawyer present. You could say or do something incriminating that is later used against you.

...

Dallas criminal defense attorney child pornography

Society considers crimes against children especially heinous. In the United States, a person charged with any type of criminal offense is innocent until proven guilty. Unfortunately, many people automatically assume that an individual accused of a child-related crime must be guilty of that crime. If you or a loved one has been charged with child sexual assault, child abuse, child pornography, or a related offense, understanding your rights is paramount to building a strong defense with the help of a skilled criminal defense attorney.

The Right to Decline Police Questions

Law enforcement may use a variety of tactics to make a criminal defendant submit to questioning. However, it is absolutely vital that you remain silent and refrain from answering police questions until your attorney is present. Being arrested and charged with a crime can be frightening, confusing, and overwhelming. When you are in a heightened emotional state, you are in no position to answer police questions. You may say or do something during the interrogation that worsens your chances of avoiding conviction. The U.S. Constitution protects your right to prevent self-incrimination. This right applies to police questioning as well as during your trial proceedings.

...

Tarrant County criminal defense attorney child sexual abuse

Crimes against children are punished harshly in Texas. If you have been accused of sexually abusing a child, you could face significant criminal charges that result in possible jail time. Most people have a strong emotional reaction to allegations of child sex abuse. They may assume that just because a person is accused of harming a child that the person actually did harm the child. In some cases, the charges may be based on false allegations. This is why is it is crucial for anyone facing criminal charges related to child sex abuse to speak with a skilled criminal law attorney as soon as possible.

Sex Crimes Involving Minors

In Texas, there is no overarching law regarding sexual abuse of a minor. Depending on the circumstances of the alleged offense, a person accused of child sex abuse may be charged with:

...

Tarrant County child abuse defense attorney

The way that parents raise their children is evolving with each new generation. One issue that has become especially controversial in recent years is corporal punishment or using physical force such as spanking as a form of discipline. Whatever your personal opinions are regarding corporal punishment, it is important to understand how Texas law differentiates between punishment and abuse. Individuals who physically punish children in a way that crosses the line into abuse can face criminal charges for domestic assault, injury to a child, and other crimes against children.   

Definition of Family Violence According to the Texas Family Code

Texas law defines “family violence” as actions that are intended to result in bodily injury, physical harm, or assault. Abuse is defined in the Texas Family Code as:

...

Fort Worth child abuse and neglect defense attorney

Many parents who are contacted by the Texas Department of Family and Protective Services (DFPS) are shocked when they realize that they are being investigated for potential child abuse or neglect. While many child protective investigations are the result of justified concerns regarding children’s safety, some investigations are the result of a misunderstanding or misinterpretation. If you are currently facing accusations of child neglect, child abuse, or domestic violence, it is possible that you will be investigated by the DFPS. Therefore, it is important to understand how Texas law handles these types of accusations of crimes against children

Allegations of Child Abuse or Neglect

According to Texas law, anyone who reasonably believes that a child has been neglected or abused must report the possible mistreatment to law enforcement or the DFPS. The DFPS is required by law to investigate these reports and make a determination about the validity of the accusations.

...

Tarrant County child abuse defense attorney

The terms “domestic violence” and “abuse” are used so often, it can be hard to know exactly what they mean. For example, is spanking your child after he or she misbehaves considered child abuse? What about forcefully grabbing your child’s arm when he or she is about to run into a busy street? Can non-physical actions like shouting at a child result in domestic violence charges? Being convicted of a crime against a child can result in life-changing consequences. You may lose the right to spend time with your child or may only get to see him or her under close supervision. You may even face years in prison. If you or a loved one has been accused of child abuse, child sexual abuse, injury to a child, domestic violence, or a similar crime, speak to a criminal defense attorney as soon as possible so you can start building a strong defense against these charges.

Definition of “Abuse” Under Texas Law

According to the Texas Family Code, abuse of a child includes:

...

Forth Worth crimes against children attorney

Criminal consequences for crimes against children in Texas can be life-changing. If you are convicted of child pornography, sexual assault of a child, kidnapping and abduction, or a similar offense, you could face years behind bars and a lifetime of stigma. You may also be required to register as a sex offender and appear on the public sex offender registry. Even false allegations of any criminal act can dramatically damage your reputation. If you have been accused of a crime against a child, there are several steps that you should immediately take in order to give you the best possible chances of avoiding a conviction.

Do Not Say Anything to Police Until Your Lawyer Is Present

You have probably heard the phrase, “You have the right to remain silent” in the past, but you may be unsure as to what this actually means. In the United States, anyone who has been placed under arrest has the right to remain silent and not respond to police questioning. Never allow police to interrogate you without your lawyer present. An experienced criminal defense attorney will ensure that your rights are not violated and that you do not inadvertently say something that could incriminate you.

...

Collin County crimes against children defense attorney

There is a significant amount of controversy surrounding corporal punishment in the United States. Some parents feel that spanking their children is an effective form of discipline, while others avoid any form of physical punishment. Data shows that the percentage of parents using corporal punishment is slowly declining. According to a study published in the Journal of Child and Family Studies, approximately 37 percent of children under 18 were spanked by a parent or guardian in 2014. It is important for any parent choosing to employ corporal punishment to understand when spanking or other physical punishments may break the law and be considered crimes against children.

Understanding Texas Law Regarding Bodily Injury to a Child

It can be hard to know exactly when the physical punishment of a child crosses the line into abuse. According to Texas law, hitting a child could constitute “assault bodily injury family violence” or “injury to a child” depending on the circumstances. The Texas Penal Code states that an individual commits injury to a child if he or she intentionally or recklessly causes bodily or mental injury to a child under 15 years of age. Assault with a bodily injury of a family member occurs when a person knowingly, intentionally, or recklessly causes pain, injury, illness, or impairment to a family member. Striking a child does fit these definitions; however, it is very unlikely that a parent or guardian would be convicted of these crimes for spanking alone.

...
Elite Lawyer AVVO National Trial Lawyer SuperLawyer Client Champion 2020
Back to Top